Graduate Students

Ryse Akiu

e: rakiu@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
ʻIke Hawaiʻi, Indigenous Philosophies, Settler Colonialism and Decoloniality, Buddhism, Chinese Philosophy


Hyeon Sop Baek

e: baekh@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Korean Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Confucianism, neo-Confucianism, Social/Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Sentiments


Elvin Blanco Rivera

e: elvinbr@hawaii.edu


T.D. “Dave” Burns

e: tburns@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophical Anarchy, Argument, Metatheory, Social Philosophy, Critical Rationalism


Elyse M. Byrnes

e: ebyrnes@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Feminist philosophy, Kyoto School Philosophy, Aesthetics, Phenomenology, The Body, Love, Self-Image, Hannah Arendt, P4C.


Jacob Cherry

e: jcherry@hawaii.edu


Shelly Denkinger

Aaron Donaldson

e: aarondon@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Existentialism; Philosophy of Mind; Aesthetics; Buddhist Philosophy; Socratic Dialogue


Michael Dufresne

e: dufresne@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy (esp. Confucian and Daoist traditions), Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Ethics.


Edward M. Eisner

e: etme@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Japanese Philosophy.


Benjamin Hoffman

e: bkhoffma@hawaii.edu


Taylor Brooke Hunter

e: tbhunter@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:

Environmental Political Philosophy: Climate Injustice, Indigenous Injustice, Political Feasibility; Social Epistemology: Feminist and Indigenous Epistemologies; Embodied Phenomenology; Evolutionary Theory; and Indian Philosophy: Buddhism and Advaita Vedānta.


Emma Irwin-Herzog

e: ejirwin@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaphysics of Consciousness, Classical Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind and Language, Moral Psychology


Nikolas Janowicz

e: njanowic@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Renaissance Philosophy, Cognitive Psychology, Philosophy and the Internet


Susannah Lee Kandikatti

e: sulee@hawaii.edu


Andrew Kelly

e: atkelly8@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Buddhism, Cynicism, Skepticism, Political Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Public Philosophy


H.S.H. Kline

e: hshkline@gmail.com

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Feminism, Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Nietzsche


Sera Kong

e: hshkline@gmail.com

Research Interests:
Comparative Ethics, Chinese Philosophy, Existentialism

Sera Kong

Jana Light

e: lightj@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Theology, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy and Philanthropy


Sung-Kyu Lim

e: sklim33@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Kyoto School Philosophy, German Philosophy, Korean Philosophy.


Ruel Mannette

e: ruelmann@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Modern and Contemporary French Philosophy, Contemporary Japanese Philosophy, Ancient and Contemporary Chinese Philosophy, Bioethics, Neuroethics, Philosophy of Science, Semiotics, The Frankfurt School, Philosophy of Religion, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Technology and History of Ideas


Ella Marsh

e: ellapm@hawaii.edu


Bobby McCullough

e: bobbymcc@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Classical Chinese philosophy (Legalism, Confucianism, Mohism, Daoism), political economy, economic philosophy, political philosophy, morality and ethics


Edward Montgomery

e: emonty13@gmail.com

Research Interests: Classical virtue ethics, Aristotle, Aquinas, Japanese and Buddhist philosophy, Zen, and political philosophy. Minor interests in the space where aesthetics and ethics meet, à la Japanese aesthetics, Plato, and Nietzsche


Zachary Nickles

e: nicklesz@hawaii.edu


Ian Nicolay

e: inicolay@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind; History of Philosophy; Asian and esp. Indian Philosophy


Aaron Ortner

e: ortner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy and its connections to Ancient Indian Philosophy. Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Time


Chih-Wei Peng

e: cwpeng@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Environmental Ethics, Moral Theories, Buddhism, Daoism


Nicholas Raffel

e: neraffel@hawaii.edu


Matthew Rhee

e: mrhee@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoism, zen, pluralism, absurdism, philosophy of mind


Kevin Rickman

e: rickmank@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Asian Philosophy including Daoism, Buddhism, and Zen koans and haikus. Western Philosophy including philosophy of language, ethics, and epistemology.


Micah Sadoy

e: msadoy@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics; Cooperation, Social Ontology, Philosophy of the Social Sciences, Animal Cognition, Non-Linguistic Thought; Comparative Aesthetics


Michael Schainfeld

e: schainfe@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Continental Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Philosophy of Death and Dying


Ryan Schwartz

On leave


Thomas B. Schmidt

e: tbschmid@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Modern and Contemporary Japanese Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Aesthetics, Critical Theory, Kant, Philosophy of Film


Kimberly Serratos

e: ks4747@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Comparative Philosophy, particularly Classical; Aesthetics; Schopenhauer


David Simone

e: dsimone@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Philosophy, political philosophy, and philosophy of mind


Neil Sims

e: neilsims@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:

Indian Philosophy, Ch’an/Zen Buddhism, Philosophy of Mind, Logic and Language philosophy, Epistemology, especially as it relates to science, and Phenomenology


Pavel Stankov

e: pstankov@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics, philosophy of mind, Indian philosophy, Greek philosophy, and philosophy of science


Bruce Ka’imi Watson

e: brucew@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
ʻIke Hawaiʻi, ʻŌiwi & Pasifika philosophies, Indigenous philosophy, Agnotology, Haole ignorance


Griffin Werner

e: gbwerner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Nihilism, Zen Buddhism, 20th Century Japanese and Continental Philosophy, Critical Theory, p4c


Huayanni Yang

e: huayanni@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Infinity; Imagination; Classical Chinese medical theories; History of mathematics


Ting-Hsuan Yu

e: yuth@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:

Daoism, specifically medieval dalism