Graduate Students

Ryse Akiu

e: rakiu@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
ʻIke Hawaiʻi, Indigenous Philosophies, Settler Colonialism and Decoloniality, Buddhism, Chinese Philosophy

Hyeon Sop Baek

e: baekh@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Korean Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Confucianism, neo-Confucianism, Social/Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Sentiments

Elvin Blanco Rivera






T.D. “Dave” Burns

e: tburns@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophical Anarchy, Argument, Metatheory, Social Philosophy, Critical Rationalism

Elyse M. Byrnes

e: ebyrnes@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Feminist philosophy, Kyoto School Philosophy, Aesthetics, Phenomenology, The Body, Love, Self-Image, Hannah Arendt, P4C.

Jacob Cherry






Shelly Denkinger






Aaron Donaldson






William Dou

e: dou@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoism, Chinese Logic (Mojia and Mingjia), Neo-Confucianism, Yijing, Chinese mathematics, comparative philosophy, philosophy of mathematical practice.

Michael Dufresne

e: dufresne@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy (esp. Confucian and Daoist traditions), Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Ethics.

Edward M. EisnerEdward Eisner

e: etme@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Japanese Philosophy.

Benjamin Hoffman






Taylor Hunter






Emma Irwin-Herzog

e: ejirwin@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaphysics of Consciousness, Classical Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Moral Psychology

Nikolas Janowicz






Andrew Kelly






H.S.H. Kline

e: hshkline@gmail.com

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Feminism, Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Nietzsche

Sera KongSera Kong

e: hshkline@gmail.com

Research Interests:
Comparative Ethics, Chinese Philosophy, Existentialism

Jana Light

e: lightj@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Theology, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy and Philanthropy

Sung-Kyu Lim

e: sklim33@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Kyoto School Philosophy, German Philosophy, Korean Philosophy.

Ruel Mannette

e: ruelmann@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Modern and Contemporary French Philosophy, Contemporary Japanese Philosophy, Ancient and Contemporary Chinese Philosophy, Bioethics, Neuroethics, Philosophy of Science, Semiotics, The Frankfurt School, Philosophy of Religion, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Technology and History of Ideas

Ella Marsh






Bobby McCullough






Edward Montgomery






Zachary Nickles






nicolayIan Nicolay

e: inicolay@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind; History of Philosophy; Asian and esp. Indian Philosophy

Aaron Ortner






Chih-Wei Peng

e: cwpeng@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Environmental Ethics, Moral Theories, Buddhism, Daoism.

Matthew Rhee

e: mrhee@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
daoism, zen, pluralism, absurdism, philosophy of mind

Kevin Rickman

e: rickmank@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Asian Philosophy including Daoism, Buddhism, and Zen koans and haikus. Western Philosophy including philosophy of language, ethics, and epistemology.

Micah Sadoy

e: msadoy@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics; Cooperation, Social Ontology, Philosophy of the Social Sciences, Animal Cognition, Non-Linguistic Thought; Comparative Aesthetics

Michael Schainfeld

e: schainfe@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Continental Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Philosophy of Death and Dying

Ryan Schwartz






Thomas B. SchmidtThomas Schmidt

e: tbschmid@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Modern and Contemporary Japanese Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Aesthetics, Critical Theory, Kant, Philosophy of Film

David Simone

e: dsimone@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Philosophy, political philosophy, and philosophy of mind

Neil Sims






Pavel Stankov

e: pstankov@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics, philosophy of mind, Indian philosophy, Greek philosophy, and philosophy of science

Bruce Ka’imi Watson

e: brucew@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
ʻIke Hawaiʻi, ʻŌiwi & Pasifika philosophies, Indigenous philosophy, Agnotology, Haole ignorance

Griffin WernerGriffin Werner

e: gbwerner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Nihilism, Zen Buddhism, 20th Century Japanese and Continental Philosophy, Critical Theory, p4c

Huayanni Yang

e: huayanni@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Infinity; Imagination; Classical Chinese medical theories; History of mathematics

Ting-Hsuan Yu