Faculty | Emeriti | Staff | Graduate Students | Alumni

    Former Faculty Members and Emeriti (in alphabetical order)

    Mitsuo Aoki (1914–2010)
    DD, Pacific School of Religion (1968)

    Dr. Aoki founded the Department of Religion in 1956. He earned a B.A. degree from Drury University in Springfield, MO, and a B.D. from Chicago Theological Seminary, before receiving his Doctor of Divinity degree from the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA. Some of his numerous contributions to the field of death and dying, and to hospice care, are described on the http://www.livingyourdying.com/index.html website.

    Alfred Bloom
    Ph.D., Harvard University (1963)

    David W. Chappell (1940–2004)
    Ph.D., Yale University


    John Charlot
    Emeritus Professor (2013)
    Dr.Theol., University of Munich, 1968

    Contact Information: UH Directory Curriculum vitae
    Personal website
    Jean Charlot Foundation

    John Charlot taught Hawaiian and Polynesian religions as well as New Testament and Religion and Art.

    S. Cromwell Crawford
    Th.D., Pacific School of Religion (1965)

    Michael R. Saso
    Ph.D., London University (1971)
    Personal website: http://www.michaelsaso.org

    Friedrich Seifert
    Th.D., Pacific School of Religion (1967)

    George J. Tanabe, Jr.
    Ph.D., Columbia University (1983)

    On January 24, 2014, George J. Tanabe, Jr. was awarded Japan’s Imperial Order of the Rising Sun. This honor comes in recognition of his contributions to the strengthening of academic and cultural exchanges between the United States and Japan, and also recognizes his outstanding research in the field of Japanese religions.

Home | People | Undergraduate | Graduate | Courses | Events | Resources | Links | Contact

Department of Religion | College of Arts and Humanities | Sakamaki Hall A311, 2530 Dole St., Honolulu, HI 96822
Telephone: (808) 956-8299 | Fax: (808) 956-9894 | All Content Copyright © 2011