Graduate Students

Ryse Akiu

e: rakiu@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
ʻIke Hawaiʻi, Indigenous Philosophies, Settler Colonialism and Decoloniality, Buddhism, Chinese Philosophy

Elyse M. Byrnes

e: ebyrnes@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Feminist philosophy, Kyoto School Philosophy, Aesthetics, Phenomenology, The Body, Love, Self-Image, Hannah Arendt, P4C.

William Dou

e: dou@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoism, Chinese Logic (Mojia and Mingjia), Neo-Confucianism, Yijing, Chinese mathematics, comparative philosophy, philosophy of mathematical practice.

Michael Dufresne

e: dufresne@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy (esp. Confucian and Daoist traditions), Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Ethics.

Edward Eisner
Edward M. Eisner

e: etme@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Japanese Philosophy.

Nolan Grunska

e: ngrunska@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Political Philosophy, Metaphilosophy, Non-Western philosophies, Neo-Confucianism, Philosophy of Literature, Marx, Gramsci, Djilas.

Emma Irwin-Herzog

e: ejirwin@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Moral Psychology, Emotion, Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy.

izorMatthew A. Izor

e: izorma@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Biosemiotics, Philosophy of Nature, Aesthetics, Japanese Philosophy and Ecology, American Philosophy and Ecology

H.S.H. Kline

e: hshkline@gmail.com

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Feminism, Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Nietzsche

Jana Light

e: lightj@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophical Theology, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy and Philanthropy

Sung Kyu Lim

e: sklim33@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Kyoto School Philosophy, German Philosophy, Korean Philosophy.

nicolayIan Nicolay

e: inicolay@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind; History of Philosophy; Asian and esp. Indian Philosophy

Chih-Wei Peng

e: cwpeng@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Environmental Ethics, Moral Theories, Buddhism, Daoism.

 

Matthew Rhee

e: mrhee@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
daoism, zen, pluralism, absurdism, philosophy of mind

Kevin Rickman

e: rickmank@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Asian Philosophy including Daoism, Buddhism, and Zen koans and haikus. Western Philosophy including philosophy of language, ethics, and epistemology.

Micah Sadoy

e: msadoy@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics; Cooperation, Social Ontology, Philosophy of the Social Sciences, Animal Cognition, Non-Linguistic Thought; Comparative Aesthetics

Michael Schainfeld

e: schainfe@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Continental Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Philosophy of Death and Dying

Thomas Schmidt
Thomas B. Schmidt

e: tbschmid@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Modern and Contemporary Japanese Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Aesthetics, Critical Theory, Kant, Philosophy of Film

Pavel Stankov

e: pstankov@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics, philosophy of mind, Indian philosophy, Greek philosophy, and philosophy of science

Brandon Underwood

e: bpunderw@hawaii.edu

 

 

Griffin Werner
Griffin Werner

e: gbwerner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Zen Buddhism, 20th Century Japanese and Continental, Critical Theory

Lisa Widdison

e: