Graduate Students

allredJohn Allred

 

Research Interests:
Aesthetics, Indian Philosophy

 

baronettStanley A. Baronett

e: baronett@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: 
Philosophy of Science, Physics, Cosmology, Complexity, Evolution, Emergence, History of Science and Mathematics, Metaphysics

 

benderJacob Bender

e: jacobdb@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Existentialism, Phenomenology, Daoism, Buddhism

 

byrnesElyse M. Byrnes

e: ebyrnes@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Japanese and Continental Philosophy, Aesthetics, Poetics, Philosophy of Language, Gender Studies, and Translation

 

Jarrod Brown

e: brownjw@hawaii.e

 

Amit Chaturvedi

e: amitc@hawaii.edu

 

Kuan-Hung Chen

e: kchen@hawaii.edu

 

Meilin Chinn

e: mlchinn@hawaii.edu

 

crellerAaron Creller

e: creller@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy, Epistemology, Hermeneutics, Islamic Philosophy, Ancient Greek Philosophy

 

Christina da Silva

 

dunlapRika Dunlap

e: rikad@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Aesthetics, Kyoto School Philosophy, Japanese Buddhism, Kant, Ethics

 

David Falgout

e: dfalgout@hawaii.edu

 

analauraAna Laura Funes Maderey

e: alfmm@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Philosophy (Samkhya-Yoga, Vedanta, Kasmir Saivism), Metaphysics, Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Religion

 

Joseph Harroff

e: josephheh@hawaii.edu

 

hoffmanBenjamin Hoffman

e: bkhoffma@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Social Philosophy, Ethics, Japanese Philosophy, Nineteenth Century Philosophy, Hermeneutics

 

Nicholas Hudson

e: nhudson@hawaii.edu

 

izorMatthew A. Izor

e: izorma@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Biosemiotics, Philosophy of Nature, Aesthetics, Japanese Philosophy and Ecology, American Philosophy and Ecology

 

Karuna Joshi-Peters

e: karunajp@hawaii.edu

 

lebelJoel LeBel

e: lebelj@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoism, Philosophy of Imagination, Chinese and Western Metaphysics, Classical and Contemporary Political Philosophy, Neo-Confucianism

 

Jing Liu

e: jing6@hawaii.edu

 

Joshua Mandelstam

 

Kevin P. Maroufkhani

e: kevinpm@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Buddhism, Indian Philosophy, Comparative Ethics, Meta and Normative Ethics of Empathy and Compassion, Personal Identity, and Indian Theories of Self

 

martinMiles Walter Martin IV

e: mwm369@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophy of Religion, Chinese Religions, and Hellenistic Philosophy

 

mckinneyJonathan McKinney

e: Jrm8@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Epistemology, Pragmatism, Metaphysics, Complexity, Social Systems, and Perspective

 

Julia Morgan

 

morrowSydney Morrow

e: js99@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Classical Chinese Daoist Cosmology, conceptions of infinity and limitation, Philosophy of Mathematics, and Kant’s copious corpus

 

nicolayIan Nicolay

e: inicolay@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Indian Philosophy, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Late Modern Philosophy

 

Cindy Scheopner

e: scheopne@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Religion, Islamic Philosophy, Ethics (esp. multicultural)

 

Amjol B. Shrestha

e: amjol@hawaii.edu

 

Ryan Shriver

e: shriverr@hawaii.edu

 

sohAndrew K. L. Soh

e: aklsoh@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoist Philosophy, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

 

coltensteeleColten Steele

e: cl42@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Chinese Philosophy (esp. Daoism, but Confucianism and Buddhism as well), Philosophy of Education, Philosophy of Mind, Spinoza, Comparative Philosophy, Political Philosophy

 

laurasullivanLaura Specker Sullivan

e: lspecker@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Cross-Cultural Bioethics, Aesthetics, Metaethics, Japanese Philosophy, Wittgenstein

 

stollJosh Stoll

e: js34@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Buddhism, Philosophy of Education, Hermeneutics, Metaphilosophy

 

sullivanIan Sullivan

e: ian2@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Ethics, Chinese Philosophy, Feminist Ethics, the final works of Michel Foucault, American Pragmatism

 

turkPatrick Cody Turk

e: pcturk@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, the reception of Plato in modern China

 

Brandon Underwood

e: bpunderw@hawaii.edu

 

weissingerEric Weissinger

Research Interests:
Indo-Tibetan Buddhist Philosophy, Philosophy of Happiness, Philosophy of Language

 

Lisa Widdison

e: lisa888@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Philosophy, Islamic Philosophy, Metaphysics, Aesthetics, and Philosophy of the Mind

 

zenkBenjamin Zenk

e: bzenk@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Indian Philosophy (esp. Buddhism and Jainism), German Philosophy (esp. Kant and Schiller), Hermeneutics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Education, Aesthetics

 

Ting J. Zheng

e: tjzheng@hawaii.edu