Graduate Students

Elyse M. Byrneselyse

e: ebyrnes@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Feminist philosophy, Kyoto School Philosophy, Aesthetics, Phenomenology, The Body, Love, Self-Image, Hannah Arendt, P4C.

Michael Dufresne

dufresne snowman

e: dufresne@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy (esp. Confucian and Daoist traditions), Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Ethics.

Edward M. Eisner
Matthew Fujimotofuji_koyasan

e: mfuji@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Religion, German Philosophy, Japanese Philosophy, and Kierkegaard

hoffmanNicholas Hudson

e: nhudson@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Chinese philosophy (esp. Confucianism), Ethics, Hume, Philosophy of War

Emma Irwin-Herzog

e: ejirwin@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Moral Psychology, Emotion, Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy.

izorMatthew A. Izor

e: izorma@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Biosemiotics, Philosophy of Nature, Aesthetics, Japanese Philosophy and Ecology, American Philosophy and Ecology

H.S.H. Kline

e: hshkline@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Feminism, Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Nietzsche

Jana Light
Sung Kyu Lim

e:sklim33@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Comparative Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Kyoto School Philosophy, German Philosophy, Korean Philosophy.

Joshua Mandelstam
nicolayIan Nicolay

e: inicolay@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind; History of Philosophy; Asian and esp. Indian Philosophy

Chih-Wei Peng

e: cwpeng@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Environmental Ethics, Moral Theories, Buddhism, Daoism.

Matthew Rheemattrhee

e: mrhee@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
daoism, zen, pluralism, absurdism, philosophy of mind

Kevin Rickman

e: rickmank@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Asian Philosophy including Daoism, Buddhism, and Zen koans and haikus. Western Philosophy including philosophy of language, ethics, and epistemology.

Michael Schainfeld

e: schainfe@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Continental Philosophy, Classical Chinese Philosophy, Philosophy of Death and Dying

sohAndrew K. L. Soh

e: aklsoh@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Daoist Philosophy, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

stankovPavel Stankov

e: pstankov@hawaii.edu

Research Interests:
Metaethics, philosophy of mind, Indian philosophy, Greek philosophy, and philosophy of science

Brandon Underwood

e: bpunderw@hawaii.edu

Lisa Widdison