Student Affairs

Student Affairs
2444 Dole St.
Bachman Annex 9, Room 5
Honolulu, HI 96822-2399

tel (808) 956-8753

Regents and Presidential Scholarships

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT total score of at least 1950 (old SAT)/1380 (new SAT) or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Apply for a Scholarship

  • Please contact the Admissions Office at UH Hilo, UH Manoa, or UH West O‘ahu for information on how to apply.

The Regents and Presidential Scholarships are administered by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at UH Hilo, UH Manoa and UH West O‘ahu in cooperation with the UH System Office of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs.

List of recipients from 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007 and 2006.

2007 Scholars

Regents Scholars

Name and high school

Shannon Arakawa, Education Laboratory
Jerrica Ching, Moanalua
Joshua Fujino, Moanalua
Travis Y. Hee Wai, Kalani
Timothy K. Ho, Roosevelt
Gloria Hong, McKinley
Katrina Hi‘ilani Johnson, Castle
Dayna Kitsuwa, McKinley
Liana Kobayashi, Punahou
Vivian Lin, Kaiser
Trissa McClatchey, Roosevelt
David L. Nagashima, Mililani
Katrina Namnama, Moanalua
Kristen Nishihara, Moanalua
Melissa Omiya, Roosevelt
Elyse Oyama, ‘Iolani
Pohai Patterson, Kamehameha
Abigail H. Trenhaile, Kamehameha
Marisa Watanabe, Baldwin
Jessica N.G. Yuen, Kapolei

Presidential Scholars

Name and campus

Jennifer A. Abayon, Manoa
Isaac S. Arasato, Manoa
Trisann Bambico, Hilo
Ryan Kanakaole, Hilo
Jason E. Maligmat, Manoa
Elsie M.A. Matsuoka, Manoa
Sarah K. Morihara, Manoa
Kathleen Ramirez, Manoa
Primrose B. Raquel, Manoa
Akira Ruddle-Miyamoto, Hilo