Office of the President

Office of the President
2444 Dole Street
Bachman 202
Honolulu, HI 96822

tel (808) 956-8207
fax (808) 956-5286

2014 University of Hawai‘i
Aloha United Way
Softball Tournament

From its inception in 2006, the University of Hawai‘i-Aloha United Way Softball Tournament has developed into a tradition that sparks camaraderie and friendly competition among the University of Hawaii's O‘ahu campuses and administrative offices. Team entry fees and other donations raised during the softball tournament go towards the University's Aloha United Way (AUW) campaign.

In support of the 2014 AUW O‘ahu Campaign, UH once again held the tournament at Les Murakami Stadium. Teams from each O‘ahu campus and the UH System administration competed in the double-elimination tournament for bragging rights and went to bat in support of bettering lives within our community.

AUW Participation Challenge

To make this friendly competition even more exciting, the O‘ahu campuses and UH System offices held a participation challenge that positively impacted three teams during the softball tournament. See the Tournament Rules for more details.

A final tally of participation for this challenge was taken on Wednesday, October 15, 2014.

Congratulations to the First Place winner Leeward CC with a total of 25% participation. Their softball team received a "bye" in the first round of the tournament.

Coming in Second Place was the UH System with 19% participation, earning their team a 2-run advantage which they used in their first game. Third Place went to Honolulu CC with 15% participation, earning their team a 1-run advantage which they used in their first game.

Mahalo to all the O‘ahu campuses and UH System offices for taking part in this challenge and helping to support the Aloha United Way!

The Eighth University of Hawai‘i - Aloha United Way Softball Tournament
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 (updated)
5:30 to 10 p.m.
Les Murakami Stadium
UH Manoa

The fun-filled event featured door prizes and standard ballpark fare. All faculty and staff were invited to participate, either on the field as a softball player or in the stands as a member of their team's cheering squad.


  • Peter Arnade, Co-chair (Manoa): 956-6460 or email
  • Ardis Eschenberg, Co-chair (Community Colleges): Ph. 235-7443 or email
  • Lui Hokoana, Co-chair (West O‘ahu): 689-2678 or email
  • Stephanie Kim, Co-chair (System): 956-4250 or email

The University of Hawai‘i is proud to continue its support of AUW through a tradition of generous contributions from faculty and staff that enable AUW to continue its partnership with numerous non-profit organizations. The University aims to raise $320,000 for the 2014 campaign, making an important investment in our community to make it safer, healthier and more productive for families throughout our neighborhoods.

Please check back for updates.

2006-2014 Champions

2014 - UH Manoa

2013 - UH Manoa

2011 - UH Manoa

2010 - UH System

2009 - UH Manoa

2008 - UH System

2007 - UH System

2006 - Honolulu Community College

More photos