skip to Main Content

UH Manoa Faculty Member Ben Brooks Receives Fulbright Scholar Award

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Tara Hicks, (808) 956-3151
Outreach Specialist
Dr. Ben Brooks
Assistant Researcher
Posted: Jul 21, 2003

Dr. Benjamin A. Brooks, Assistant Researcher at the Pacific GPS Facility within the Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology at the University of Hawaii, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture and do research at Universidad Nacional de Cujo, Mendoza, Argentina during the 2003-2004 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Dr. Brooks will be installing a GPS (Global Positioning System) network in and around Mendoza city, train local scientists on the use and applications of the network, and conduct research to improve the understanding of the earthquake generating process.

Dr. Brooks is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 140 countries for the 2003-2004 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program‘s purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.

The Fulbright Program, America‘s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 57 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the U.S. They are among more than 250,000 American and foreign university students, K-12 teachers, and university faculty and professionals who have participated in one of the several Fulbright exchange programs.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corporation.

For more information about the Fulbright Scholar Program, please contact Kirsten Bermingham, communications specialist, Council for International Exchange of Scholars. Telephone: 202.686.7869; Email:; Web site:

For more information, visit: