skip to Main Content

Final Candidates Announced in Search for Nursing Dean

Public sessions with final three candidates scheduled for late February

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Feb 12, 2003

The search committee for the position of dean of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa‘s School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene (SONDH) has announced the final candidates for the position. The finalists will be visiting the UH Mānoa campus during the last week of February and first week of March.

The final candidates are:

Julie E. Johnson, PhD, RN -- Julie Johnson is currently Director and Professor at Orvis School of Nursing at the University of Nevada, Reno. She has served as director of the Orvis School of Nursing since 1993 and also held the position of interim director of the university‘s Graham and Jean Sanford Center for Aging. Her previous administrative positions have also included associate dean of the College of Nursing at Montana State University and director of the college‘s Office of Research Support. She received her bachelor‘s, master‘s and doctoral degrees in nursing from the University of Texas at Austin.

Kenneth P. Miller, PhD, RN, CFNP, FAAN -- Kenneth Miller is currently Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Clinical Scholarship at the University of New Mexico‘s College of Nursing, a position he has held for the past four years. Miller received his bachelor‘s degree from the University of Michigan and his master‘s degree and doctorate in clinical nursing research from the University of Arizona. He has previously taught at the University of California, San Francisco, and at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Maryland. Miller has received numerous honors including Fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing, and he was recently elected to the Board of Directors of the American College of Nurse Practitioners.

Nancy Ridenour, PhD, RN, CS, FNC, FAAN -- Nancy Ridenour is currently Dean and Professor at Mennonite College of Nursing at Illinois State University, a position she has held since 1999. She received her bachelor‘s degree from Texas Tech University and her master‘s degree and doctorate from the University of Colorado. She has taught and served in various administrative capacities at both schools, including associate dean at Texas Tech University‘s School of Nursing. Ridenour is also a member of the American Nurses Association, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Public Health Association.

"I would like to thank all the members of the search committee for their hard work and dedication to this process," said Search Committee Chair Kem Lowry, professor of Urban and Regional Planning at UH Mānoa. "They worked diligently to identify the candidates who have the capability to build upon the success already established at the School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene and to lead it as it continues to address the healthcare needs of our community."

Public sessions have been scheduled to offer faculty, staff, students and the community an opportunity to meet the candidates, ask questions, and listen to their presentations on the topic "Partnerships in Healthcare for a Better Tomorrow: What Does the Future Hold?" All sessions will be held from 5 to 6:30 p.m. in Webster Hall Reading Room 205 on the UH Mānoa campus. They are scheduled as follows:

Tuesday, Feb. 25 — Kenneth Miller

Thursday, Feb. 27 — Julie Johnson

Friday, Feb. 28 — Nancy Ridenour

The new dean will be a successor to Rosanne Harrigan, who now chairs the Department of Complementary and Alternative Medicine at UH Mānoa‘s John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM).

In addition to Chair Lowry, members of the search committee included Patricia Lanoie Blanchette (JABSOM), Wynetta Carl-Matsuura (SONDH Doctoral Recipient), Mark Greer (Dental Health Division, Hawaiʻi State Department of Health), Jillian Inouye (Professor and Graduate Chair, SONDH), Jane Kadohiro (Assistant Professor, SONDH), Christi Keliipio (Hawaiʻi Nurses Association), William J. King (UH Mānoa IT Specialist and support staff representative), Carolyn K. Kuba (Instructor/Chair, Dental Hygiene, SONDH), Laura Mallery-Sayre (Hawaiʻi Dental Hygienist Association), Lois Magnussen (Associate Professor and Director, Student Services, SONDH), Geri Marullo (Child and Family Service), Joan K. Matsukawa (Associate Professor, Nursing, SONDH), Richard Meiers (Healthcare Association of Hawaiʻi and member, SONDH Advisory Board), Mary Oneha (Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center), Janice Shoultz (Associate Professor, SONDH), and Virginia M. Tanji (JABSOM and Faculty Senate Representative).