Hawai‘i Educational Research Association

The Hawai‘i Educational Research Association (HERA) provides a forum for sharing issues, insights, and research findings with educational researchers, administrators, teachers, and others who want to improve educational practice. Through its annual conference, publications, and periodic forums, HERA is a source of information for concerned educators in Hawai‘i. HERA also sponsors the Pacific Educational Research Journal, a refereed journal published annually. HERA is a member of the Consortium of State and Regional Educational Research Associations, an affiliate of the American Educational Research Association.

Distinguished Paper

HERA members are encouraged to submit their research for HERA's Distinguished Paper Award. Intent to submit email is due in October each year. The paper is due in November. See the Call for Distinguished Paper for more details. The award winner is announced at the annual conference and receives an honorarium as well as the opportunity to present at the American Educational Research Association.

Periodic Forums

HERA independently and with other educational organizations periodically sponsors forums featuring prominent educators visiting Hawai‘i. On March 29, 2011, we hosted a talk story with Charles Du, the Western Mobile Development Executive for Apple Inc. In summer 2010, we hosted a forum co-sponsored by the Curriculum Research & Development Group and the Hawaii Educational Policy Center. Our invited speaker was James W. Guthrie, Senior Fellow and Director of Education Policy Studies at the George W. Bush Institute.

Annual Conference

HERA presents an annual conference at the beginning of each calendar year. The annual conference date is generally on a Saturday. See information about previous conferences by visiting our conference page.

Past Conference Speakers

Thomas Apple, Judith Arter, Kathy Au, Pamela Aschbacher, Eva Baker, Sue Bennett, David Berliner, Geoffrey Borman, Philip J. Bossert, Betsy Brandt, John Bransford, Mervin Brennan, Martin Carnoy, Yvonne Chan, Arthur Costa, William Cummings, Lois-ellin Datta, Vicki Davis, Frank De Lima, William Dendle, Emmer, Howard Gardner, Ricki Goldman, Dennis Gooler, Mark Hines, Sylvia Hussey, Ku Kahakalau, Paul Kingery, Morris Lai, Paul LeMahieu, Durwood Long, Charles Morrison, Diana Kaapana Oshiro, Scott Paris, Jerry Pine, James Popham, Michael Pressley, Richard Ripple, Robert Rosenthal, Barbara Schneider, Neil Scott, Michael Scriven, William Sewell, Richard Shavelson, Jim Shon, Frank Smith, Nick Smith, Nan Stein, Dennis Streveler, Ruth Streveler, Marilla Svinicki, William Tikunoff, Tony Wagner, Howard Wainer, Steven Wheelwright, Benjamin Young, and Don Zundel.


Annual membership in HERA costs $15 for professionals and $10 for full-time students. Members receive calls for papers for the annual conference, notices about speakers, a subscription to the Pacific Educational Research Journal, and announcements about important educational events in Hawai‘i and the Pacific. Click here for an application form.

2023-2024 HERA Board of Directors

President Richard C. Seder
Vice President Susan Saka
Treasurer Michael-Brian Ogawa
Past President Thanh Truc Nguyen
Membership Secretary Jerelyn Watanabe
Recording Secretary Sylvia Hussey
Board Members Sean Mosier, Keala Fukuda
Executive Director Martha Crosby

Pacific Educational Research Journal

For more information, email herainfo@hawaii.edu
or write to
HERA, c/o Department of Educational Psychology, University of Hawai‘i, 1776 University Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96822

Copyright 2023. Hawaii Educational Research Association.
Last Updated December  December 1, 2023 11:41 AM Hawai`i Standard Time