The UH System

Who We Are

University of Hawai‘i Leadership

Board of Regents

The governing body of the University of Hawai‘i System is composed of 15 regents, nominated by the Regents Candidate Advisory Council, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature. They serve for staggered terms, without compensation.

President and Senior Management Team

The senior management team for the UH System is headed by the university president.

David Lassner, President and Interim Manoa Chancellor


Nainoa Thompson, Advisor on Hawaiian Affairs
Risa E. Dickson, VP for Academic Planning and Policy
Jan Gouveia, VP for Administration
Kalbert Young, VP for Budget and Finance / CFO
John Morton, VP for Community Colleges
Garret Yoshimi, VP for Information Technology / CIO
Carrie K. S. Okinaga, VP for Legal Affairs / University General Counsel
Vassilis L. Syrmos, VP for Research and Innovation

Council of Chancellors

Chief executives of the UH System’s three university and seven community college campuses comprise the Council of Chancellors, which reports to the university president.

Doris Ching, West O‘ahu
Rachel Solemsaas, Hawai‘i
Erika Lacro, Honolulu
Louise Pagotto, Kapi‘olani
Helen Cox, Kaua‘i
Manuel Cabral, Leeward
Lui Hokoana, Maui
Douglas Dykstra, Windward