The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Francis Takahashi , headshot

Francis Takahashi

Francis T. Takahashi is an assistant professor in the Electronics Technology Program, Trade Technology Division of Kaua‘i Community College.

He once wrote, “We must encourage students to become lifelong learners expanding their minds and horizons on the voyage to discover new 'worlds' on an island they may have once perceived as very small.”

Takahashi received a BA and MS in zoology at the University of Hawai‘i before completing his PhD in physiology at Oregon State University. He is also trained in business administration, electronics and data processing, which led to stints at IBM, Domain and Maxtor.

This broad background enabled Takahashi to start an electronics technology program at Kaua‘i CC in 1985.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view winners by year: 2012 |2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Tod Aeby, headshot
Tod Aeby
Linda Furuto, headshot
Linda Furuto
West O‘ahu
Floyd McCoy, headshot
Floyd McCoy
Veronica Ogata, headshot
Veronica Ogata
Kay Ono, headshot
Kay Ono
Kathryn Sims, headshot
Kathryn Sims
John Zuern, headshot
John Zuern