The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Michele Ebersole, headshot

Michele Ebersole

An associate professor of education, Michele Ebersole is an outstanding role model who inspires students to do their best. She displays the professional demeanor and personal warmth that characterize the most effective and engaging teachers.

Students identify with Ebersole because she is youthful, personable and articulate, but they also admire her dedication, competence and dignity. She takes time to ensure students’ needs are met and their questions answered. She also provides extensive feedback. Her students describe her as sensitive, warm and an exemplary scholar. Ebersole embodies for them the qualities of the teacher they would like to be someday.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Diane Caulfield, headshot
Diane Caulfield
Krista Hiser, headshot
Krista Hiser
Frank Kudo, headshot
Frank Kudo
West O‘ahu
Ross Langston, headshot
Ross Langston
Shelley Ota, headshot
Shelley Ota
Taupouri Tangaro, headshot
Taupouri Tangaro