The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Shirley Yamashita, headshot

Shirley Yamashita

A specialist in educational technology in the College of Education, Shirley Yamashita has been a leader in working with undergraduates in teacher education.

Her extensive experience in developing and teaching online courses has made her an invaluable resource for other faculty.

Yamashita’s philosophy of teaching for both face-to-face and online learning environments is to "exemplify all that you teach."

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Maria Fabro, headshot
Maria Fabro
Kathleen French, headshot
Kathleen French
Colette Higgins, headshot
Colette Higgins
Kathy Hill, headshot
Kathy Hill
Donnalyn Kalei, headshot
Donnalyn Kalei
Femar Lee, headshot
Femar Lee
Jill Omori, headshot
Jill Omori