The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Meta Tjan Lee, headshot

Meta Tjan Lee

Meta Tjan Lee is an assistant professor of pediatrics at UH Manoa. She wants each and every one of her students to provide excellent patient care and contribute to the wellbeing of the surrounding community and the growth of the medical profession. Lee challenges herself to contribute to the field of pediatric education by developing new and innovative ways of teaching.

Because she loves teaching and is always driven for self-improvement, she pursued advanced educational training and received a master’s degree from the University of Southern California’s faculty development program. Lee is always positive and upbeat, and puts 100 percent effort in all that she does.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students.

Select a recipient below for more about that individual.

Or view winners by year: 2012 |2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Kauka de Silva, headshot
Kauka de Silva
David A. Krupp, headshot
David A. Krupp
Lena Y.P. Low, headshot
Lena Y.P. Low
Paul Lyons, headshot
Paul Lyons
Joni Onishi, headshot
Joni Onishi
Mary C. Summers, headshot
Mary C. Summers
, headshot
David Yang