The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Iva Goldman , headshot

Iva Goldman

Iva Goldman, chair and associate professor of communication, is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award for Improving Student Life.

Goldman has built successful relationships through her willingness to get to know her students. She connects students to campus and community activities and programs that enhance their learning by incorporating those elements into her course content.

She volunteers as a department advisor, staffs the department for registration, and is a favorite reference for many.

Goldman once said that her goal was to be the kind of professor that parents hoped their children would meet when they went away to college—someone who could be a resource beyond the classroom.

She made significant contributions to increasing the quality of life for the many students who have crossed her path for more than 30 years at UH Hilo.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award