The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Richard Crowe, headshot

Richard Crowe

Richard Crowe, a professor of physics and astronomy, is the recipient of the Koichi and Taniyo Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation. He is a co-winner with Shawn Laatsch, the planetarium manager of the ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawai‘i.

Crowe has been the astronomer-in-residence at the ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawai‘i since 2006 and has done many planetarium presentations. He is part of the team that developed and perfected the use of ‘Imiloa’s state-of-the-art 3-D capable planetarium to teach general astronomy and enhance the student’s learning in ways that are impossible to achieve in the conventional classroom.

His research interests are in the areas of pulsating stars, stellar evolution and spectroscopy, with some 47 scientific publications in those fields.

His teaching responsibilities have ranged from introductory physics and astronomy to quantum physics, classical mechanics, thermodynamics, electromagnetism, astrophysics and senior level quantum mechanics.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award