The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Davis Award Winner

Lorelle Solanzo-Peros, headshot

Lorelle Solanzo-Peros

An instructor of hospitality and tourism at Maui Community College, Lorelle Solanzo-Peros was hired as the program’s sole faculty member in 2001. She has redesigned the curriculum to meet national accreditation standards. Under the new curriculum, rigorous classroom academics are combined with focused internship and mentoring opportunities to provide a strong, experential educational foundation that will prepare students to be leaders and managers in the hospitality industry.

A student writes, "My journey at Maui Community College has been great because there was a teacher like Ms. Lorelle Solanzo Peros."

The Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Anthony Kilbert, headshot
Anthony Kilberk
Mai Wong, headshot
Mai Wong


Colette Higgins, headshot
Colette Higgins
Barbara Hotta, headshot
Gordon Scott Lee
Leslie Lyum, headshot
Leslie Lyum
Employment Training Center
Mark Panek, headshot
Mark Panek