The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Davis Award Winner

Marianne Takamiya, headshot

Marianne Takamiya

Marianne Takamiya is an assistant professor of astronomy in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at UH Hilo.

Takamiya received her BSc in physics and MSc in astronomy from the Universidad de Chile and her PhD in astronomy and astrophysics from the University of Chicago. She did her post-doctoral research as a Gemini Science Fellow at the Gemini Observatory and was a research associate at UH Hilo.

She has been with UH Hilo since 2008.

Takamiya’s research interests include star formation and galactic dust absorption, evolution of field galaxies, quasar absorption line galaxies and globular clusters.

The Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Current Winners
Go to UH News for stories on the latest honorees.

2002 – 2015 Honorees
2012–2015 | 2007–2011 | 2002–2006.


Corey Adler, headshot
Corey Adler
Anne Chung, headshot
Anne Chung
LaVache Scanlan, headshot
LaVache Scanlan

Past winners from 2007–2011 and 2002–2006.