Faculty Projects and Publications

Jo-Ann C. Leong, Ph. D.

Professor & Director

Education

University of California, Berkeley Zoology B.A. 1964
University of California, San Francisco Med.Sch. Microbiology Ph.D. 1971
University of California, San Francisco Med.Sch. Biochemistry Postdoc 1971-74
University of California, San Francisco Med.Sch. Cancer Res. Postdoc 1971-74

Appointments

Director, Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology, University of Hawaii 2001-
Professor, School of Ocean & Earth Sciences Technology, Univ. Hawaii 2001-
Asst., Assoc., Full Professor of Microbiology, Oregon State University 1975-1992
Distinguished Professor of Microbiology, Oregon State Univ. 1993-2003
Chairperson, Dept. of Microbiology, Oregon State Univ. 1996-2001
Emile Pernot Endowed Professor of Microbiology 1998-2003
Editor, Viral Diseases of Fish, Diseases of Aquatic Organisms 1996-2006
Editorial Board, Marine Biotechnology 1991-2006
USDA/NSF Microbial Genome Sequence 2001,2003, 2004
USDA Molecular Basis of Animal Diseases Panel 2005, 2006
President, Board of Governors, Center for Tropical and Subtropical Aquaculture 2001-
Myron B. Thompson Academy School Board, Vice Chair 2002-2011
President, Western Assocation of Marine Laboratories 2011-2012
Co-Chair, Ecosystem Science and Management Working Group, a standing committee of the NOAA Scientific Advisory Board 2008-2012
President, National Assocation of Marine Laboratories
     Chairman, Public Policy Committee of NAML
2012-2014
2010-2012
National Climate Assessment Development and Advisory Committee (NCADAC) 2011-2014
Secretariat, NCADAC 2011-2014

Selected Refereed Publications (2006-2011)

Thesis Advisor & Postgraduate Scholar Sponsor

Marta Alonso NEIKER- Tecnalia, Spain malonso@neiker.net
Eric Anderson Maine Bio-tek, VP eric@mainebiotek.com
Rosemary Barrie Newberg, Oregon 503-538-5901
Linda Bootland Novartis, retired lbootland@pei.sympatico.ca
Peter PinWen Chiou Academia Sinica Marine Station, Ilan ppchiou@gate.sinica.tw
John D. Drennan Schering-Plough Animal Health Corp john.drennan@spcorp.com
Barbara A. Drolet Agricultural Res. Servic, Laramie, WY Barbara.Drolet@ars.usda.gov
Linda Durrin Beckman Research Institute, CA. ldurrin@coh.org
H. Mark Engelking Oregon Dept. of Fish & Wildlife malonso@neiker.net
Manley Huang Panorama Research Institute mhuang55@yahoo.com
Robert D. Gilmore Jr CDC, Fort Collins, Co rbg9@cdc.gov
Yali Hsu Academia Sinica – Zoology zoohsu@ccvax.sinica.edu.tw
Marc Johnson University of Missouri Med Sch marcjohnson@Missouri.edu
Carol Kim University of Maine at Orono carolkim@maine.edu
Jennifer Kishimori USAMRIID jkishimo@hawaii.edu
Gael Kurath USGS, Seattle, WA gael_kurath@usgs.gov
Carla Mason Endres College of Eastern Utah, San Juan carlaendres@ceu.sjc.edu
Ichiro Misumi University of North Carolina Sch Med imisumi@email.unc.edu
Dan V. Mourich Antivirals, Inc. dan.mourich@antivirals.com
Jay A. Nelson Oregon Health Sciences Univ., Portland nelsonj@ohsu.edu
Marc Johnson University of Missouri Med Sch marcjohnson@Missouri.edu
Benjamin Simon Evergreen State College simonbe@evergreenstate.edu
Leslie A. Tengelsen Epidemiology Services, State of Idaho tengelse@idhw.state.id.us
Grant D. Trobridge University of Washington gtrob@u.washington.edu
Scott W. Wong Gene Therapy Institute, OHSU wongs@ohsu.edu
Dawn Jordan Hayes Calif, Animal Health & Food Safety Lab marcjohnson@Missouri.edu
Li Xu Sea Lane Biotechnologies, Menlo Park Li.Xu@sealanebio.com

Postdoctoral Fellows/Sabbatical Visitors

Mathias Ackerman US Army Medical Research Institute for Infectious Diseases Faculty of Veterinary Med, Switzerland
Colin Munn University of Plymouth, UK C.Munn@plymouth.ac.uk
Satoru Suzuki Ehime University, Lab Molec. Ecology ssuzuki@agr.ehime~u.ac.jp

Testimony and speeches

Download CV

Return to the top of this page.

[ Top of the page ]